h1

Here Is The Story of the Barba Papas

January 3, 2002

Every time a maid calls my husband "Baba" all I can think of is the Barba Papas. It irks me. I refer to him as "Sir" when I'm talking to the maids but it sounds awkward as well. For some reason, all my Sri Lankan maids have called me "Mama" which is one of my biggest pet peeves. They just can't bring themselves to call me "Madame" no matter how many times I tell them I'm not their mother. By the way – are Kerrie and I the only geeks who remember this show? I actually had little Barba Papa figures when I was a kid.

2 comments

  1. I have to say, now there are four of us of us that remeber them, you 2 and me and a childhood friend..so happy to found some others.


  2. Thats 5 of us. I remember them and i even had a book. I thought i was the only person who had ever heard of them – nice to know someone else has too.



Leave a Reply

