h1

Garden Update : October 27, 2005

October 27, 2005

First off, let me reiterate that I'm brand new to gardening. My parents always grew great things in our yards but I always thought of gardening as something old women did. Well, now that I'm and old woman, I see the beauty in gardening. It's relaxing and therapeutic. If I come off as sounding like a ninny when it comes to all things gardening – it's because I am. I'm an amateur and would like some input from readers, especially when it comes to gardening in a desert climate. These are the herbs I've been growing for a few months now:

  • Basil
  • Rosemary
  • Zaatar – a variation of thyme?
  • Rehan – a variation of basil?
  • Mashmoom – another variation of basil?

Recently bought:

  • Lavender
  • Mint
  • Grape vine
  • Lemon tree
  • Jasmine
  • Bougainvillea

So far, so good. Everything is potted because I don't have a yard yet. Basil is the only herb that I keep in the kitchen because it doesn't do well outside and because I use it so much in my cooking. Here are some questions I have:

  • Any suggestions on how to maintain a grape vine in a desert climate? I live close to the water, so I have a bit of humidity on my side.
  • Any tips on keeping a potted lemon tree?
  • I plan on making a pergola for shaded parking – which climbing plant would you suggest using as natural shade?
Leave a Reply

