h1

It CAN Be Done

June 5, 2006

Yesterday I arranged for a friend of a friend to try out my maid for a few days. The FOF is in need of a maid and my maid is in need of a new employer so it made sense to hook both of them up.

To make a long story short, I was up today at 5:45AM with the children which is fifteen minutes earlier than usual, and by 11AM my house was in presentable order. Not only had I done the basics like breakfast, washing and dressing the children, cleaning all of the bedrooms and bathrooms on the second floor but I also did three loads of laundry: washed, dried, folded, and put away. I cleaned out the top shelf of my fridge and wiped it down. I washed the guest room’s floor because I saw dried parrot poop that must have been there for about three weeks. I vacuumed our couches because they were full of dust and cat hair. I took short breaks here and there. Was my house spotless? No. Presentable? Yes. Cleaner than when my maid was here? Absolutely.

By noon I picked up the maid because she decided she didn‘t want to work the FOF‘s house. As soon as she got in the car, her mouth started up. I was trying to concentrate on the highway, and she just kept on yapping and yapping while my children tried to outdo her for my attention. So here I am, back home, with a major stress-induced headache. The headache that miraculously disappeared when the maid left yesterday afternoon.

I’ve lost sight as to what I was trying to say here.

Ah, right, I remember now. It was to tell you that when you decide to be without a live-in maid and go it on your own or with the help of a part-time maid, everyone will tell you that it’s impossible to do in Kuwait. Especially if you’re a foreign woman with children.

I’m here to tell you that I did it all on my own by 11AM.

Leave a Reply

