h1

The Ongoing Saga of What To Do With My Pets

June 10, 2006

A friend of mine suggested I contact PAWS and so I e-mailed them, asking about boarding pets for a month and they replied that they don't offer it now, perhaps in the future but not now. So PAWS is out.

I went to the IVH website and they charge KD6.5/day for cat boarding. That would be KD195 for a month.

I'm holding on to the live-in maid until I decide what's best for everyone. Leaving her in our home for a month, alone, doesn't sound very good to me. She has an aunt who lives close by and could check up on her. I would have my in-laws check in but I don't know. The jury is still out on this option.

I can't put them in the in-law's house because they're doing a lot of renovation this summer and I can't afford to have my birds breathe in paint fumes or have my indoor cat get outside.

I have a few friends but all of them work and have other obligations. Some are going to be out of the country this summer.

Someone suggested putting my maid in the in-law's house and having their driver bring her down to our house every day for the pets and to dust. It doesn't sound like a good idea to me.

5 comments

  1. KD6.5 a day?! That’s a bit of a rip off if you ask me:-( I suppose for a dog, that could be a fair price, considering they eat more than felines and need to be taken out at least once per day.
    It cost me less than that per day in the US. Then again, i had a cat:-)


  2. A big rip off. Boarding your dog there is KD7/day. I told Paws that I would provide all the necessities and pay a volunteer for their services but was kindly told that no, it wasn’t possible. UGH!


  3. get a friend to look after your pets. better yet, if you had a friend with a child, you could make an agreement with them, that if the child took care of your pets, they could consider it as a summer job. the kid would learn how to be responsible, plus make some money out of it!


  4. That’s a good suggestion. A few other people suggested the same thing but the problem is that the friends that I have don’t have children or have toddlers/pre-schoolers.

    I’m still trying to come up with something, anything….


  5. Stinni, you are scaring me…! We are moving to Kuwait soon with my husband and we are having two cats. How did you finally manage with the pet-sitters while being out of the country?
    Thanks



Leave a Reply

