h1

Pizza Dough

June 11, 2006

I’ve found it. I’ve found the perfect pizza dough recipe. It’s easy. You don’t even have to write it down because it’s fairly easy to memorize. You don’t have to knead it if you have a mixer with kneading attachments. It freezes well. It’s vera napolitana! The only negative thing about it was that when I defrosted it, my husband noted that the pizzas came out a little tough. I think I might have used it while still cold from the refrigerator so I’m going to let it get to room temperature next time*.

I make this recipe once a week and divide into six balls. Whatever I don’t use, I wrap in plastic wrap and place in Ziploc bags and pop them into the freezer. I use them later on in the week for my son because it’s hard to get him to eat anything these days but he hardly refuses homemade pizza from mamma.

You can also use this dough for calzones, breadsticks, you name it. You can get creative and use endless toppings.
Me? I like traditional pizza and so for the sauce I use canned plum tomatoes. I place however much I need into a moulis/mill and puree the tomatoes into a sauce. That’s it.

My son loves the assembly part: dough, swirl of tomato sauce clockwise, sprinkle some dried oregano, mozzarella cheese (get the fresh balls if you can and tear them into pieces), swirl of olive oil. Bake in the hottest temperature possible in your oven. Sometimes, if the basil in the garden is doing well, we tear some basil leaves and place them on top AFTER the pizza has cooked.

Give it a try. You won’t believe how easy it is to make.

*Updated to say that I let the dough come to room temperature before I cooked the pizza and it came out perfect.

3 comments

  1. An actual easy to make pizza recipe I was afraid it was going to be another pita bread and ketchup recipe but it wasn’t lol!
    Thank you


  2. No pita bread and ketchup recipes around here, I promise. 🙂


  3. i love ikea!



Leave a Reply

