h1

Hillbilly Housewife

June 28, 2006

I stumbled across a site called Hillbilly Housewife the other day and I’m so glad I did. The recipes on her site are awesome. Her aim is to provide recipes that are low-cost and made from scratch. With a son in private school, low-cost is always a good idea. And I’m all for homemade, avoiding those nasty preservatives and additives.

I tried her recipe for Kettle Corn and it was really good. I didn’t have any corn oil in the house, I never do – so I used olive oil and it worked! Next time I’m going to try it without salt because I think it would taste like caramel popcorn.

Last night I made her Creamy Italian Dressing and it tasted just like it was from a bottle. We usually have a very simple vinaigrette with our dinner salad so this was a nice alternative. I used some trans fat-free Hellman’s mayonnaise and sunflower oil to make this dressing, so it’s possible to play around with the ingredients to make it healthier. My husband said it tasted like it was from a restaurant. I can’t wait to try her Greek Herbal Dressing and Ranch.
She has a whole section on Homemade Convenience Foods. Everything from making your own Bisquick, to making your own ricotta. She also offers up coffee and tea mixes (even a recipe for making your own English Breakfast Tea) and rice mixes. I’ve never made rice from a box but some of these mixes sound good so I’m going to give them a try.

Check her recipes out and try a few. You won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

