h1

Garden Update : July 5th, 2006

July 5, 2006

Unfortunately, it’s bad news.

My tangerine tree died. The first signs of trouble was when I had it re-potted at a nursery. I didn’t stick around to supervise, a big mistake. When I saw it really struggling, I decided to transplant it to the yard. Another mistake. It’s all dried up now.

My “toot” tree is burned up, the fruit is gone. My Spanish Lavender is burned and dead. Same can be said for my black-eyed Susan and morning glories. Even the mint and rosemary are finding it difficult to live in the hot burning sun.

The only things that seem to be doing well in full sun are:

  • Bougainvillea, although the purple flower variety seems to be drying up so I moved it to a shadier spot.
  • “Kala Karpis”. I don’t think I’ll ever find out what this tree is really called.
  • Mashmoom, a local basil.

The following benefit from partly shaded areas:

  • Mint
  • Rosemary
  • Zaatar, a local oregano

I keep watering all the dead plants because when it looked like there was no hope for my toot tree, I just kept the faith and kept on watering and sure enough, it came back to life. It also worked for the bougainvillea that I nearly killed when transplanting it in the yard. The root ball is sensitive and so you have to be extra careful when handling it.

Maybe if we put a pergola or some other shade-providing structure, I might have some luck in the outdoor gardening area in the future. For now, God bless those “Kela Karpis”!

5 comments

  1. I thought Zaatar was Thyme.


  2. When I bought it at the plant souk in Shuwaikh, I was told that it was “zaatar”. But after looking it up on the internet, I found out that it’s really Cuban Oregano.


  3. Mostly on those plants you mentioned can bear the summer heat. I have had success with Zinnias as flowers too in the past – they can be prolific and bear the heat.
    Your best bet is mashmoom for a lush look; it is green and fragrant.


  4. Hi Stinni,

    If I went to the plant souk and asked for kela karpis, would they know what I wanted or would they give me that distant (your a complete nutter) look??

    I have been looking for something to grow quick and fill all my empty spaces in my new garden., ALso fearing that as the oven hot summer is coming, my new cute looking garden is just about to be cooked to ashes 😦

    Great web site 😀

    Lucy….. ps, do you have a picture of the kela karpis?


  5. Lucy – Sorry for the delay. I’ll take a picture of it so that way can go and grab a few from the plant souk. I have a feeling that if you asked for it in English, Arabic, or Latin – you would still get that utterly confused look. 🙂 They’re great in terms of growing at a fast pace and not requiring a lot of water.



Leave a Reply

