h1

Back To Life

September 11, 2006

Back to reality.

Italy was great. As I mentioned before, it had been a long time since I last saw Italy. The last time I was there, I was a teenager. Now, as a middle-aged mother, some of the changes were disappointing. There’s way too much graffiti and it’s everywhere. Prostitution is out in the open, most of the girls being from Eastern Europe or Africa. Just like the graffiti, they’re everywhere too. I’m sure these things existed when I was a teenager, I was just oblivious to most of it.

It looks like Italy has endured economic hardships since I was last there. Again, I was a teenager who stayed with relatives in a posh suburb of Rome so maybe Italy was just as bad back then but I was pampered and naive. Some parts of Rome reminded me of former communist countries with rows upon rows of non-descript ugly identical apartment buildings.

The one thing I really loved was how everything grows there. As a person who is into climbers/vines/crawlers and fruit trees, I was in awe of how you could stumble upon fresh lavender or a rosemary bush while walking down the street. I loved how vines grew up utility poles or weaved their way through metal gates. Sometimes there were fruit trees growing close to on-ramps of the autostrada.

My son is back to school, another long story that I might share with you at a later date. All I can say is that customer service here, even in private schools, Sucks, with a capital S.

I have bronchitis so details of our trip will have to wait. Check out my Flickr account (on the right hand side) for pictures. I’ll post a few a day.

6 comments

  1. aww i hope ur ok! bronchitis is a bugger >.


  2. Welcome back!
    And Get Well Soon!


  3. Hope you had a great trip! I feel like it is FOREVER since I last talked to you! I tried to send you an email last week, but delivery failed (not sure why…)

    Email me when you get a chance! I hope that you’re feeling better!

    Love Kerrie


  4. Glad to see you’re back. Hope that you get to feeling better soon!


  5. I have been enjoying your pictures of Italy, they are all beautiful! Glad you had a nice trip.. and I’m glad you’ve blogged again! ๐Ÿ™‚


  6. Hey, thanks everyone! I’m still sick so all I’ve managed to do (online) is upload a few pictures to Flickr. I have a TON more so keep checking back. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Kerrie, it HAS been forever since we chatted. My old e-mail doesn’t work anymore so I guess just use simplystinniAThotmailDOTcom for now . Write soon! ๐Ÿ™‚



Leave a Reply

