h1

Mr. Clean Magic Eraser

November 5, 2006

I’d like to know what they put in these sponges because they really are magical. I refused to buy them at first because they were a little pricey but I gave in when my kids wrote on the playroom walls with crayons and pens and nothing was working to get the stains off. I tried 409, diluted Fairy, and Windex. Mr. Clean Magic Erasers took everything off in one easy swipe. No elbow grease involved. I used them again the other day when my son wrote on his furniture with magic marker. Worked like a charm.

The only problem I have with the product is that it disintegrates quickly so it doesn’t last long. Considering that I only use it for really difficult stains that don’t come off with any other product, it’s not a big problem.

If you have children who are a little on the artistic side and have a problem with keeping all magic markers and crayons being out of reach when you’re not looking – this product is a must-have.

11 comments

  1. OMG
    i just used it today, i have been using it for a while and that thing is amazing


  2. Have you tried it on leather yet! I have a stain on a leather chair that won’t go away unless I get it wet and scrape it but I am too affraid to scrape too hard then damage the leather!


  3. Laialy_q8 – Isn’t it amazing? What I do is just get a little bit of the sponge wet and that way, I can cut off the dirty part with scissors and keep the rest of the sponge for later usage.

    The Stallion – All of our furniture is kid-friendly which means there’s no leather in our house. I googled your question, though, and found someone who used it to clean her leather sofa but she said it dried out the leather a little bit so she used leather conditioner afterwards. Good luck!


  4. I use them all the time. Tea stains on the kitchen counter come right off. Also, dirty fingerprints wipe off in seconds; cuts right through the grease without scrubbing. I heard that they’re going to change the product because of complaints of their disintegrating. Supposedly, they’re going to make them stronger.


  5. When I first heard about these things,I refused to break down and buy them (because I am so cheap). Then one day a neighbor had a package of two- and insisted I take one home and try it. I wound up doing every wall in my apartment! I can’t live without these things now.
    They work well in the bathroom, and my favorite use for them is to remove black scuff marks on my kitchen linoleum from the boys’ sneakers..
    I too, only wet one corner and cut it off when I’m through in order to conserve. Do we think alike, or what? πŸ™‚


  6. Thanks!


  7. Mom – For some reason, I just remembered the time Dad was here and I asked him what you use to get rid of scratches on your white sink and he said something like, “that bleach, uh, scrub thing…”. πŸ™‚

    Angela – Oooh, use them on shoes, I’m going to have to try that one! And yeah, us New Englanders tend to be a lil’ thrifty! πŸ™‚


  8. I saw a commercial for that, and keep meaning to go and get it (because you KNOW I do ALL the cleaning in my house….right?). I definitely want it now!

    I have some scuff marks on my entry floor that will NOT come off, so I’m going to try this on them……

    Kerrie


  9. I thought you had D trained to clean and cook for you? πŸ˜‰


  10. Of course! I was being a wise ass…. πŸ™‚

    Actually, it works mostly like this…he really does all the ‘picking’ up (you know, like after me), and I do the actual ‘cleaning’, like the bathroom.

    I DO want to tackle that huge green scuff mark in the middle of my floor though!

    K.


  11. I just used it today to get off scuff marks from the wall and it worked. I hardly had to put any effort into it so give it a try.

    The day you clean up after a man and not vice versa is the day I’ll go looking for demons on ice skates if you know what I mean. Hehe.



Leave a Reply

