h1

Nutella, from Kuwait

February 2, 2007

Nutella

I thought it would be cool to show people a jar of Nutella with Arabic written on the label. It was a good excuse to finally buy the largest jar available in the grocery store. I decided to try Self-Frosting Cupcakes with Nutella. See below.

Nutella Cupcakes

My husband isn’t big on sweets but he loved these. He ate three in a row. They’re delish.

Nutella Cupcakes

I have a few comments about the recipe. First off, when I measured out the butter and put it onto my scale, it came out to more than 140 grams. I used NawarΒ which is butter made with canola oil and made in the UAE so it’s only a fraction of the cost of its American and European counterparts. I didn’t have any toothpicks in the house (to swirl around the Nutella on top of the cupcakes) so I used spaghetti. Don’t laugh, it worked. You know you can use spaghetti to test if cakes are done, too – right? Just a little tip. I think the next time I make these, I’ll try them with Galaxy chocolate spread. I have a feeling it will melt even better than the Nutella.

20 comments

  1. looks.. YUMMYYYY!!


  2. I WAANNNTTTTT


  3. Those look so good!
    I never thought about using spaghetti for testing a cake. I appreciate the tip, because I never ever have toothpicks in the house.


  4. those look good .. !!


  5. Now i know what to do for desserts tomorrow πŸ™‚

    thank you for being a good mom/& wife πŸ™‚ and a posted blogger πŸ™‚

    I will use it with my special chocolate recipe

    THANK YOU STINNI


  6. Hello there – thanks for your contribution to World Nutella Day!!! It’s interesting to see the jar being sold out of Italy! I’ve heard so much about these cupcakes, I’ll have to try them soon!

    We hope others join us for World Nutella Day on the 6th! http://www.nutelladay.com


  7. Oh, I could kill for one of those right now….


  8. Those look so GOOD! I love the spaghetti thing, too funny….


  9. Stinni, This is really weird. as I clicked to read this article of yours, my wife came out of the kitchen with some buns she has just made (she has a KitchenAid stand mixer). One of the buns has Nutella in it and I ate it it was so yum. I swear she spends half of her time in the kitchen these days. Last night she made California Rolls. yum yum


  10. Thanks, everyone. They’re really delicious, so try them if you can. I think I would like it even better with Galaxy chocolate instead of the Nutella and perhaps a dollop of peanut butter in the middle? (I’m craving Reese’s!)

    *Mental note* I think this recipe might work for something like Upside Down Pineapple Cupcakes.

    Camel Jockey – Hey neighbor. *Twilight Zone music*. Have your wife put up a sign or something so I know where you live and can snatch up some of those California Rolls. Yum, indeed! πŸ™‚


  11. Stinni, [edited]. We the neighborers, got together and spread asphalt in the street. I can tell you that our street is the cleanest in the area. As you know, we have not had any government services int the area except of the electrical service. You welcome anytime.


  12. I edited your comment because you never know how many freaks are out there, sa7? πŸ™‚ I know exactly where you live. I call it the “Christmas street” because a lot of you (at one point at least) had outdoor lights on the front yard wall.

    The garbage problem we have here is outrageous. I think I wrote something about it last year. I even took pictures. Do you know how many rats I’ve seen scurrying around at night? It’s not as bad at it used to be but damn, rats?

    How are the shocks doing on your car? You know, from driving on bumpy dirt roads with potholes the size of Texas.. Ours are so bad that I look like I’m driving a lowrider. I should pop in some rap music and turn up the bass really loudly to make it authentic.


  13. Stinni, In our neighborhood we have five Kuwaitis who graduated from American Universities. We have Americans, British and South Africans. As far as garbage collection go, I have stayed on top of it since I moved here two years ago. I have kept my connection with the Baladiah’s Fintas office and also I have the phone numbers of the representatives of the the garbage collection office. Every time a new neighbor moved in, I would take there papers and bring them a new container. I have kept up with these people to keep our area clean. Personally, along with another neighbor we keep our garbage container in the yard until the night before garbage collection. This minimizes having all the Bengalis going through our garbage and the make such a mess. If you need help with your street, please let me know. Another thing I have done is to get all the owners phone numbers so I keep in touch with them. not only the owners who reside here but also the ones who rent. Sometimes I have helped the owners who rent their houses is to try to find them reliable families. We have had our share of problems here but overall I am pleased.


  14. You are a lot like my husband although he didn’t go as far as getting people trash containers. If he sees people tossing trash where it doesn’t belong, he’ll stop and lecture them. He yells at the Bengalis when they go through our trash. He has written about the fact that there are no streets in this area yet (hasn’t published it yet though).

    I’ll try to get him to give you a visit but he’s swamped with work and not a very social person so we’ll see! I think, though, if you got more like-minded people together – perhaps we could tackle some of the problems we’re facing in this area.


  15. Stinni–wanted to email you but lost your addy, sorry. I really like all the food sites and hints you posted on here; they’ve really been helpful. As I write this I’m printing recipes from Hillbilly Housewife and I’ve started a recipe book on ‘frugal recipes’ because we realized that one area we need to do better on at budgeting at food shopping. We’re suckers for all the multisave offers/buying in bulk and we need to get better at that. But I’ll have to try those Nutella muffins at some point. they sound deadly!

    Here are some sites I’ve found that I’ll share with you;

    Slow Cooker Recipes
    http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/showthread.html?t=131302

    Frugal Recipes
    http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/showthread.html?p=458838#post458838

    (the above two links are part of the UK financial forums that Garry likes to read–I don’t have time to read them unfortunately but I do browse the recipe and household sections when I have a bit of time…when you click on the links to these pages, scroll down the page for loads of ideas on how to save money on gifts, household expenses etc–really useful stuff! But we warned, you can easily kill an afternoon reading through it all!)

    http://www.asda-recipes.co.uk/
    recipes from the free instore Asda (Uk supermarket, owned by WalMart) magazine; often they’re quite cheap to prepare. Worth a look.

    Hope your family is well and you’re coping too! Take care! πŸ™‚


  16. I missed these the first time around when they swept the blogs, I’ve been wanting to make them, yours look great!


  17. Carla – I LOVE Hillbilly Housewife’s site. Everything that I’ve made from that site has turned out great. Her salad dressings are wonderful. Her recipe for Cheese Enchiladas is one of my husband’s favorite dinners now. Thank you for leaving those links – I’ll be sure and check them out after the kids are asleep. Take care and be well. πŸ™‚

    Brilynn – Thanks πŸ™‚ If you love Nutella, you’ll love the muffins.


  18. Your cupcakes look great! I made these when it was a craze around the blogs…it’s really good and great for picnics πŸ™‚ Thanks for the spaghetti tip! πŸ™‚


  19. so yummy


  20. These look so gooooddddd!!!!!!!!!!!!



Leave a Reply

