h1

Flora & Fauna of Kuwait

April 2, 2007

Alsirhan’s Homepage – The Birds of Kuwait is an amazing site. Whenever I see an interesting bird or insect, I head straight to Alsirhan’s site and look them up. It’s mostly in Arabic so I have my husband translate for me. The site includes pictures of plants, birds, insects, and mammals of Kuwait and gives you the Latin, English and Arabic names for each.

It’s on Alsirhan’s site that I learned that the gigantic spider in my living room a few months ago was a wolf spider. The one my husband killed in our front hosh (tiled yard) last night might have been a different type of wolf spider or a small tarantula – who knows, all I know is that it was big and hairy and it was dark and I was trying not to faint.

It’s a wonderful site. I just wish it had an English version.

2 comments

  1. 🙂 I wish there are more animals in Kuwait!! but then if there were many animals most of them will die anyway : ( …I saw a bat drinking from the swimming pool last summer,thought that was cool!


  2. Interesting!



Leave a Reply

h1

Flora & Fauna of Kuwait

April 2, 2007

Alsirhan’s Homepage – The Birds of Kuwait is an amazing site. Whenever I see an interesting bird or insect, I head straight to Alsirhan’s site and look them up. It’s mostly in Arabic so I have my husband translate for me. The site includes pictures of plants, birds, insects, and mammals of Kuwait and gives you the Latin, English and Arabic names for each.

It’s on Alsirhan’s site that I learned that the gigantic spider in my living room a few months ago was a wolf spider. The one my husband killed in our front hosh (tiled yard) last night might have been a different type of wolf spider or a small tarantula – who knows, all I know is that it was big and hairy and it was dark and I was trying not to faint.

It’s a wonderful site. I just wish it had an English version.

Leave a Reply

