h1

Books, Glorious Books

July 28, 2007

I haven’t read a book in its entirety since, oh, let me think now… after my son was born nearly six years ago. There’s just no time to sit and read and by the time I go to bed, I can barely keep my eyes open. I’ve bought books with good intentions but they stay on my bookshelf or on my bedside table, gathering dust. I recently bought three books and have started all three at the same time. (ADD, much?) Here they are:

Lisey’s Story by Stephen King. I’m on page 50 or so but it’s turning out to be the sort of book that I can easily put down and not read obsessively. The story is slow for me. I’m hoping it picks up soon.

Total Control by David Baldacci. I picked this one up on a whim. See above.

Girls of Riyadh by Rajaa Al Sanea. I love this one. I can’t put it down. I like the fact that it’s written by a young person. I can laugh at the parts that remind me of Kuwait, i.e. how guys follow girls around in their cars, trying to exchange numbers. So far, it’s my favorite. If there’s any hope of me actually finishing a book anytime soon, this is the one.

My mother left me two books in my room for me to read but I think I’ll snatch them up and read them back in Kuwait.

The Miracles of Santo Fico by Dennis L. Smith. My mother thinks I’ll like this one because it takes place in Tuscany, not too far off from where my relatives have a summer place.

Blue Diary – Alice Hoffman. I liked Practical Magic (nothing like the movie, although I liked the movie as well) so I have high hopes for this one.

3 comments

  1. You know I am not a big fan of Stephen King, but David Baldacci is okay. Girls of Riyadh-I found that a bit boring honestly..it would be interesting to have a conversation on the conflicting viewpoints

    but hey, most importantly YOU’RE READING!!! Thanks for letting us know what you’re up to.


  2. MHG – I’m not a big fan of Stephen King books either, but I thought I would give this one a shot. I finished Girls of Riyadh and ended up skipping over a lot of it because it became boring and I really didn’t care what happened to the main characters after a while.


  3. I just saw in my new Oprah magazine that they gave a positive review to your cousin’s book. That is just so cool. Hope she gets lots of positive exposure and good reviews from it! 🙂



Leave a Reply

