h1

Thanksgiving and 10th Anniversary

November 22, 2007

Thanksgiving was a family affair. Just me and my tribe. Food was alright. Been married 10 years now. Together for 16.

What? You want me to elaborate?

The Menu:

  • I scrapped the idea of roasting a chicken. I don’t like bones so I cooked chicken breasts dipped in buttermilk (leben), salt, freshly ground pepper and then coated them in crushed corn flakes. I fried some in canola oil and baked the rest. The baked ones were super tender but some of the coating fell off during the process (which I expected).
  • Boxed sage/onion/lemon stuffing (GROSS) and gravy granules (so nasty I had to toss it and make my own using butter, flour, chicken stock, black pepper, white pepper and poultry seasoning, not so nasty but not great either).
  • Mashed potatoes put through a ricer (I think that’s what you call it?) with salt and pepper, and just enough milk and butter to make all fluffy.
  • Pureed butternut squash with sour cream, salt, pepper, brown sugar and cinnamon.
  • Homemade dinner rolls.
  • Lebanese style green beans with olive oil, tomato sauce, onion, salt and pepper. (Which, by the way, is SO NOT good for Thanksgiving dinner but OH SO GOOD on its own)
  • Cranberry sauce.
  • Apple crisp. Crisp included oatmeal, butter, flour, cinnamon, nutmeg and brown sugar. Yummy.
  • To drink: that fake red wine which is really red grape juice and tastes just like red grape juice. (I know, I know, should have been fake white wine.)

As you can see, I tried to make a simple meal that would be kid-friendly but my children ended up eating none of it. My son couldn’t wait to eat and had two bowls of cereal. Instead of sitting with us, he spent his time googling car logos. My daughter sat with us but had two bites of a dinner roll and said over and over again, “Thanksgiving food is blah. Thanksgiving food is blah. Thanksgiving food is blah” until we excused her. They both had pizza later on.

So, yeah, the children weren’t that into Thanksgiving.

For those of you who scrolled through to the end looking for more details on my 10th wedding anniversary, I’m sorry to disappoint you. I’m waiting on a foot massage and that’s all it takes to make me happy

6 comments

  1. i am really very hungry right now.. and craving your food .. would UPS send me some?


  2. Oh my gosh, your squash sounds fantastic!


  3. aawwww…Happy thanks giving and wedding anniversary, many more to come inshallah.


  4. Congratulations on the anniversary! We just celebrated our 10th in July.


  5. Happy Anniversary!!!!


  6. Thanks everyone. 🙂



Leave a Reply

