h1

The Winter That Never Was

December 15, 2007

Is it me or will the winter of 2007-2008 in Kuwait be known as “The Winter That Never Was”? We’re two weeks away from Christmas and I’m still in sandals. Yesterday I wore a t-shirt in my yard. The space heaters are still tucked away in storage. We have dragonflies and butterflies in our garden. And where’s the rain? It rained all of two seconds this season. Don’t get me wrong, I hope it stays this way. But, damn. A little rain and nippiness would be nice.

On a totally different note, I bought some tuberoses tonight and they’re in a vase on my dining room table. The whole entire floor smells like tuberoses. I used to be addicted to tuberoses but they disappeared on me for a while. I’m glad they’re back.

And because this doesn’t deserve to be an entire post:

Dear Carrefour,

When you sell “Apple Tarts”, the miniature ones, make sure they are filled with APPLES and not mincemeat or some shit. I’ve gone my entire life never eating mincemeat, hell, I didn’t even really know what mincemeat was, but I think I might have had some on my ride home from your establishment tonight. (And trust me, folks, it isn’t good.)

And for the love of God, stop replacing Carrefour products with local stuff. That’s what co-ops are for. American junk food? That’s what Sultan Center is for. Be yourself.

Merci.

7 comments

  1. carrefour: me no likey me no likey. AT ALL!

    the cold is coming give it one more week 😉


  2. Didn’t Nana used to make mincemeat pie? I never had it either, but seem to remember it sitting on the “grown up” table at X-Mas…..looked kinda nasty….


  3. It’s raining today!!! Wooohhhoooooo!!! A little rain and nippiness would be nice? This is more than niicceeee 😀


  4. Organic Kuwait – I’m surprised you no likey!! They offer a lot of organic food, even organic frozen vegetables. Tell me, why don’t you like it?

    Kerrie – If it was on the grown up table, I didn’t see it. I was too busy raiding all the desserts in the kitchen before they made it out to the dining room! 🙂

    Pinot & Dita – Boy, did it rain! I love it when it rains in Kuwait. Makes everything look clean and crisp.


  5. Happy holidays!
    :o)


  6. Hey you…there you are! I was wondering where you went. I read on your blog that you’re in Kuwait for two weeks. Hope you have a fabulous time and keep up your blog once you go back to your other home.

    Merry Christmas. 🙂


  7. I don’t know, I haven’t been very ispired to blog since I started work. For one thing, the remnants of a life I have left outside work have no substance, and nothing to do with Kuwait, so I’d feel silly continuing this blog anyway :o) I might just keep it for th vacations :o)



Leave a comment